Chinese New Year 2011: blood poetry

2 02 2011

I do not find it insignificant that I, born in the year of the rabbit, one of the luckiest of all Chinese zodiac animals, am here in Taiwan celebrating what is the year 100 in the Chinese calendar and a new year of the rabbit.

On this cusp of a new year (and such a significant one) I…

…honor the intelligence of the body and spirit, and the unveiling of understanding

…honor my experience in this body, what I see and feel and know in my life, body, and psyche

…offer thanks and gratitude for my natural ease with symbols and my strong, strong intuition, and I honor my journey and phoenix-like abilities

…honor my experience and scars and also the wisdom and poetry of them

…honor the God that has been my support and my guiding Parent, who has wildly and wisely given me an abundance of gifts and guides that have been like much-needed weapons wielded in battles, some of which I can now look back on with wiser eyes and a heart full of appreciation for having fought them…and thrived!

…offer thanks for the lack of fear but instead the safety and connectedness and joy and opening and groundedness I feel when I experience the world

…offer gratitude for the gift of noble compassion I now feel for the suffering of ones who hurt me and for whom I once felt contempt

…offer thanks for sounds and stories that heal, for the possibility and process of healing itself, for the solitude and quiet found in nature, and for the gift of dreams that continually help me slip back and back into truer and truer skin

…honor the spark inside that can never be put out.

Happy New Year. Xin nian kwai le.

____________________________________________

I hope you will go out and let stories happen to you, and that you will work them, water them with your blood and tears and your laughter till they bloom, till you yourself burst into bloom. (Clarissa Pinkola Estes)

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

